Surprised by some energy consumption trivia

January 4, 2010 at 2:49 PM 1 comment

Over the holidays I started to think about how I was going to make a difference in 2010. What would my new year’s resolutions be?  Considering I have a larger than normal “Carbon” footprint than most (with my Christmas lights – even though they are LEDs) I thought it might be good to find ways to cut down my energy consumption or at least look for renewable energy alternatives. I got a couple of surprises while I was reading.

  1. Two Google searches reportedly require enough energy to boil a kettle of water.  
  2. Newer LCD monitors use more energy to display darker colours

The second point obviously eliminates the need for http://www.blackle.com/ (The Google alternative that is supposed to reduce power consumption but obviously no longer lives up to its promise).

Cheers

Entry filed under: In Kamloops, Tech Wows-n-Whoas. Tags: , , , .

Like it or not your business is involved in Social Media Not Just for the Money but Also What we Become in its Making

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages

Categories

Dot Calm Tweets


