Going overboard on Christmas lights in Kamloops and loving it!

November 17, 2009 at 2:56 PM 7 comments

For those who know that I love boating, please pardon the pun, but once again, I’m going overboard on Christmas lights at the house. I’ve done about 100,000 lights so far with another 50,000 still to go.  Don’t ask what the electric bill is… all I’m saying is … at least they are energy efficient LED lights.

When I bought all of the lights last year (over 3 skids) I heard that there was a rebate available from BC Hydro when you purchase energy efficient lights … I didn’t find out until after the fact that it was to a maximum of 1 string of lights per family.  🙂

This year I’ve added a few more creatures to the front yard.  With two more weekends still in the month I expect to have the outside all finished by the end of November. It helped keeping some of the lights on the house over the summer. Last year I started putting them up in October with the help of Advanced Electric and their crew for the places I couldn’t reach.

Doing the lights created some great memories last year. We had more people (that we would never have met otherwise) stop by the house over the Christmas season to see the lights than we had trick-or-treaters at Halloween this year and last year combined. And that’s with me standing outside on Halloween in a storm trooper costume trying to attract as many Halloween visitors as possible.

My favorite visit last year was from a young couple and their little girl who had seen the house when they went over in a plane and landed at Kamloops airport.  The little girl was so excited at the sight that she asked her parents if they could come and see the house. Since they were driving right past it when they left the airport they stopped and knocked on our door. The little girl asked if she could walk around in the front yard with all of the lights and creatures. It was great! She was smiling from ear-to-ear.

I keep big delicious candy canes in the house especially just for these special little visitors.

On another occasion last year we had a lady pull into our driveway and come up to the door asking us to help her. She was lost and needed directions to find her way back to the highway. She said she loved the Christmas lights and thought the people in the “gigantic gingerbread house” would be friendly enough to help her find her way.

Another memorable time was when a police car pulled up in the driveway and parked. The car was there for almost half an hour when I went out to find out why it was there. The lady officer behind the wheel said she had just finished her shift and wanted to watch the lights for a little while because they made her feel better after the really terrible day she’d had.  I didn’t ask what made it a bad day … it was enough just to know that the lights put a smile on her face and made her feel good.

I heard through the grapevine over the summer that there were a couple of planes which used the light display as a navigational aid to line up on the runway during some bad weather.  I heard this from a couple of different people but I’m not sure if it is true. Still, it made me smile. I wonder, should my house be considered part of the runway extension project for the airport?

I’m also still wondering why there are seldom any houses on my side of the river that are ever mentioned in the newspaper as being worthy of a drive to see the Holiday Christmas light displays.  My favorite one last year was in Westside Westsyde with all of the angels along the driveway.  I’m going to try and take some pictures of it this year and post them here.

If you find yourself in our neighborhood this year feel free to stop by 2487 Tranquille Road (river side) on the way to the airport and take a look. Let me know what you think. Suggestions, critiques and comments are always welcome.  This year I’ve put timers on the lights to turn them on at around 4:00 PM and off at about 10:20 PM. Otherwise the music and lights keep my kids up too late.

Again, I’d love to hear feedback from anyone. Feel free to post your comments here. It would also be great to hear about other light displays in the city and where they are.  You can post those here too.  Feel free to send any pictures to kamloopsdotcalm@gmail.com and I’ll post them on my blog for everyone.

Here’s wishing you a VERY Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and a phenomenal new year in 2010 from the Cameron-Inglis family to all of you and yours.

Cheers

Peter Cameron-Inglis

P.S. My wife is absolutely convinced I’m crazy but I should have the inside of the house finished by the end of the month too 😉

Entry filed under: In Kamloops. Tags: , , , .

Is anyone serious about doing positive things for Kamloops and the Thompson River? Watching the advertising industry is fascinating and scary all in one.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cameroninglis  |  November 17, 2009 at 5:18 PM

    The Communities in Bloom WinterLights Committee wants to know about your winter fun activities.

    http://www.kamloopsnews.ca/article/20091117/KAMLOOPS0101/311179974/-1/kamloops/winterlights-looking-for-fun-activities&frompost=1

    Reply
  • 2. rod mclachlan  |  November 17, 2009 at 7:15 PM

    Youre enthusiusm always makes me smile keep it up. You may be a little crazy but thtas what makes you such a good guy.

    Reply
  • 3. Steve Snyder  |  November 18, 2009 at 11:21 AM

    Well done Pete.

    Sounds like you guys are doing well.
    Say hi to the family for me and have a great Christmas!

    Regards,

    ~ Steve

    Reply
  • 4. Update on Christmas Lights in Kamloops « The Dot Calm Blog  |  November 19, 2009 at 4:33 PM

    […] November 19, 2009 On Tuesday night I had my first parent stop this year (that I know of) and take a picture of the kids on the lawn with the Christmas lights.  Put a few more displays out last night and I’m going to try and do the boat in the driveway on the weekend. Read my full Christmas Lights post here https://cameroninglis.wordpress.com/2009/11/17/going-overboard-on-christmas-lights-in-kamloops-and-lo… […]

    Reply
  • 5. Wood Sliding Doors  |  December 9, 2009 at 7:23 AM

    Good on you for putting up lights. It’s people like you that rekindle the Christmas spirits in the people that have lost it. I really hope you continue your great work. Trust me the electricity bill, will be great paid of in good graces you get froms the Gods.

    Hope you are having a great Christmas, and i wish you a Happy New Year.

    Reply
  • 6. Rockwall Christmas Lights  |  August 10, 2010 at 7:03 PM

    “Going overboard” — you crack me up. Sounds like you’re having a great time.

    Reply
  • 7. Lorraine  |  November 22, 2010 at 1:59 PM

    Wow…sounds like you really know what you are doing! I am hoping you may know where (or whom) I can turn to for assistance in putting up exterior house lights. Do you know of anyone who hires themselves out to do this? If so, I would really appreciate a reply. And my family and I will definitely be driving by this holiday season to check out all your hard work!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages

Categories

Dot Calm Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


