Magellan GPS whoa! London Drugs customer service WOW!

April 16, 2009 at 11:50 PM 1 comment

I bought a Magellan Triton 1500 GPS a few weeks ago from London Drugs. I was excited to try it out but I forgot to buy the maps to go with it. London Drugs forgot to tell me that they didn’t come with the unit. I went back to London Drugs but they didn’t have them. They said no problem you can go online to www.magellangps.com and purchase them there. Great!

I came home and went to the Magellan site. It said $50 per region in Canada (there were 5 regions) in downloadable versions or I could purchase all the regions on an SD card for $100. I selected the SD card version for all of Canada and added it to my online shopping cart, entered my personal and credit card information and then proceeded to place my order.

The site said their was an error with my order and that it could not be processed. I tried again. No luck. I then called customer service and waited on hold. When someone picked up they said the first part of their greeting and then the line went dead… on their end. I called back and went through the waiting queue again. This time I spoke to someone and they said there must be a problem with my credit card. I then called my credit card company and they said “no” there is no problem with your credit card. I called Magellan back again and after a long wait spoke to someone new. This new person said well  I must have made a mistake entering the information and that I should try again.

I tried again… I took a screen capture of each completed part of the online buying process. Once again I received the error message. I called back with this information ready. A new person now told me that the reason for the error is because they were out of stock on the SD card version and did not know when they would be getting more in. They said it may take a few months. I asked if the version on the SD card would be the same as downloading all of the regions or if it was different. The answer is that it was the same BUT that it also came with the free SD card. I said okay. Let’s do this … I will give you my credit card information and you charge me the $100 and let me download the five regions and you can keep the free SD card. They said “No” Magellan can’t do that. I asked “why not”? They said because it doesn’t work that way and that it was impossible.

I finally gave up… hung up… went online… and tried to order all five downloadable versions for the full price. The system again came back with the error!

I went back to London Drugs and spoke to Mike. I told him about my frustration. He said he would see what he could do… within a week he had the SD version for me! Magellan… Whoa! Do not pass go… Do not collect $200! London Drugs… Wow… Great customer service… Thank you!That’s one-to-zero for Bricks-and-Mortar versus e-commerce … Magellan has a long way to go before they’re ready to enter the Internet age.

Entry filed under: Tech Wows-n-Whoas.

Provincial Election and BC-STV Google Latitude gets a WOW … It’s not perfect but I see good things coming.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Meena  |  June 24, 2009 at 8:04 AM

    Magellan Maestro 4250 rocks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages

Categories

Dot Calm Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


